Neuroscience News

Dr. Irina Sinakevitch & Nat Klein Publish in JoVe

Friday, October 4, 2019

Dr. Irina Sinakevitch's paper titled, "Anti-RDL and Anti-mGlutR1 Receptors Antibody Testing in Honeybee Brain Sections using CRISPR-Cas9" , has been accepted by the Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE). Dr. Sinakevitch is with the Gronenberg Lab and Nat Klein, a co-author of the paper, is with the Bhattacharya Lab. Both labs are in the Department of Neuroscience. Congratulations to all the authors on this paper.  


Irina Sinakevitch1,2,Zev Kurtzman1*, Hyun Choi1*, David Arturo Ruiz Pardo3, Brian H. Smith1, Romain A. Dahan1, Nathaniel Klein2, Branimir Bugarija4, Erik Wendlandt4

1School of Life Sciences, Arizona State University, Tempe, AZ, USA

2University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ, USA

3DICTUS (Department of Scientific and Technologic Investigations of University of Sonora) Hermosillo, Sonora, Mexico

4Integrated DNA Technologies, Inc., Coralville, IA, USA

*These authors contributed equally

Oland receives Education Award

Wednesday, September 11, 2019

Dr. Lynne Oland was nominated for the 2019 College of Science Teaching and Advising Award. The selection committee reviewed the nomination and was very impressed with Lynne's long‐time commitment and dedication to the students in the Neuroscience/Cognitive Science Undergraduate Program (NSCS). To honor Lynne's efforts, the committee created a special award, the Excellence in Transformative Education Award. This Award acknowledges Lynne's work in creating the NSCS Program and making it a huge success.

Lynne will be honored and presented the Excellence in Transformative Education Award at the Annual College of Science Faculty Reception, held on Tuesday, September 24 at 5:30 P.M. at the Arizona Inn. Congratulations, Lynne.

Martha Bhattacharya

Bhattacharya and Yin receive BIO5 Team Scholars Program Award

Tuesday, July 9, 2019

Dr. Bhattacharya and Dr. Yin  have been granted the BIO5 Team Scholars Program award for collaborating on neuron-glia co-cultures from the Yin lab and infected with a virus built in the Bhattacharya lab. Dr. Bhagyashree Manivannan, Bhattacharya lab, is performing biochemical and proteomic analysis on the separate cell populations. 

The BIO5 Team Scholars Program award is granted through the BIO5 Institute, one of the Research Discovery & Innovation (RDI) University Research Institutes/Centers (URICs). The award offers support for scholarships to allow a faculty member release time and other support for full implementation of collaborative, interdisciplinary projects. URICs are intended to be the campus hubs for large scale transdisciplinary work, and yet many faculty are not fully utilizing the resources and connections available at the URICs in their work. The goal of these BIO5 Institute Team awards is to develop, produce and submit a collaborative proposal for external funding, and to enhance the connection of faculty to the BIO5 Institute and other colleagues.

Dr. Haijiang Cai

These neurons affect how much you do, or don't, want to eat

Wednesday, June 26, 2019

UA researchers, in Dr. Haijiang Cai's Lab, have identified a network of neurons that coordinate with other brain regions to influence eating behaviors. These findings could help those suffering from disease-induced appetite loss or over-eating.  Cai's co-authors, all of whom were associated with the Department of Neuroscience during the research, are lead author Dr. Yong Wang, JungMin Kim, Matthew B. Schmit, Tiffany S. Cho and Dr. Caohui Fang. The research was partially funded by the Brain and Behavior Research Foundation.

This content originated with a UANews release: 

Published in: Neuroscience News, ScienceDailyGenetic Engineering and Biotechnology News, Daily Mail, News Medical, and EurekAlert 

Gaige Tucker receives John G. Hildebrand Scholarship

Thursday, May 30, 2019

Congratulations to Gaige Tucker for being selected to receive the John G. Hildebrand Summer Research Scholarship. Gaige is an undergraduate participating in the Bhattacharya Lab in the Department of Neuroscience.

The John G. Hildebrand Scholarship provides support to pursue summer research for undergraduates who are in the Neuroscience and Cognitive Science (NSCS) Program.

Ant Brains Picture

Keating receives Andrew C. Comrie GIDP Doctoral Fellowship

Wednesday, May 1, 2019

Congratulations to Rebekah Keating (Godfrey) for being selected to receive the Andrew C. Comrie Graduate Interdisciplinary Programs (GIDP) Doctoral Fellowship. "Keating" is part of the Gronenberg Lab in the Department of Neuroscience, and is the first person to receive this disguished honor.

2019 Andrew C. Comrie Endowment:
This Doctoral Fellowship honors Dr. Comrie’s strong commitment to interdisciplinary research and study as witnessed by the many years Dr. Comrie has dedicated to research as an interdisciplinary climate scientist and geographer. In addition, Dr. Comrie has participated in Graduate Interdisciplinary Programs from the time he first arrived at The University of Arizona and through the years of his university leadership roles as former Provost, Associate Vice-President for Research, and Dean of the Graduate College.

NSCS Students and Neuroscience GIDP Students Awarded Galileo Circle Scholarships

Friday, April 26, 2019

The following Neuroscience & Cognitive Science (NSCS) Undergraduate students and Neuroscience Graduate Interdisciplinary Program (GIDP) Ph.D. students were awarded 2019 Galileo Circle Scholarships. Galileo Circle Scholars, the University of Arizona's finest undergraduate and graduate science students, represent the tremendous breadth of research interests in the College of Science. These scholars are our future and will be in the forefront of changing and bettering our world. Congratuations!

NSCS Undergraduate Students: Areen Badwal, Tiffany Cho, Haley Ciccone, Ashley Flores, Samantha Jankowski, and Sakthi Kumar

Neuroscience GIDP Ph.D. Students:  Sahana Srivathsa and Andrew Tubbs

Jennifer Lawrence

Jennifer Lawrence Elected Chair of APAC

Friday, July 20, 2018

Jennifer Lawrence has begun her term as Chair of the Appointed Professionals Advisory Council (APAC). Jennifer, who has been with APAC for five years, became secretary in 2015 and was vice chair for the last academic year.

Jennifer, the manager of business and finance in the Department of Neuroscience, was elected chair at the council's May 22 meeting and assumed the role on July 1. She succeeds Sara Knepper, director of academic advising in the College of Education, who served as chair for two years.

Jennifer began working at the UA, as an administrative assistant, in 1987 while pursuing a bachelor's degree in history. She assumed her current position in 2013, the same year she completed a Master of Business Administration from the Eller College of Management.

Among the priorities for the new chair of the Appointed Professionals Advisory Council are representing appointed personnel and professionals amid the University Career Architecture Project and shining a light on the often behind-the-scenes work they do.

Areen Badwal

Areen Badwal Receives Microscopy Society for America Grant

Thursday, March 29, 2018

Congratulations to Areen Badwal, an undergraduate student in the Miller Lab and an NSCS major. Areen has been awarded a grant from the Microscopy Society for America that will help fund her summer work in the Miller lab.

Stefano Dicenso Admitted to Prestigious Summer Program

Thursday, March 15, 2018

Congratulations to Stefano Dicenso, an undergraduate student in the Miller Lab and an NSCS major. Stefano was admitted to the prestigious summer program, Border Latino and American Indian Summer Exposure to Research (BLAISER). The program is administered by the UA College of Medicine and provides Stefano with full funding for 30 hours per week to continue his research in the Miller Lab, in addition to receiving free MCAT workshops.