Neuroscience News

Rachel Sadler

Rachel Sadler Receives the 2017 Hildebrand Scholarship

Thursday, October 19, 2017

Congratulations to Rachel Sadler for receiving the 2017 Hildebrand Scholarship. This scholarship supports and encourages highly-qualified students planning to pursue graduate education and scientific careers in neuroscience or a related field.

Rachel is part of the Gronenberg Lab and has been mentored by Rebekah Keating, an advanced graduate student in the lab. Here's what Keating had to say about Rachel.

"Rachel shows a tenacity and independence rare for such a young scientist.  Initially, we sat down together to familiarize her with the literature and hone her research question and, subsequently, Rachel has taken advantage of all the resources at her disposal, from the existing literature and online help with statistical analysis to advice from a behavior-savvy post doc in the lab.  She keeps a clear focus on her question and has developed her own long term research schedule to make sure she can gather enough data to adequately answer test this question.  Working with undergraduate students is one of the most valuable lessons in mentorship, but working with Rachel is like having a peer in the lab.  As a graduate student, I can bounce ideas off of her and share insights about behavior techniques or analysis methods.  She is eager to learn and practice new skills, but also seems to gain much knowledge through the process of science itself.  In addition to being adept in science, it is clear that Rachel genuinely enjoys what she is doing, a quality I think may be one of the best predictors of success in graduate school and likely academia in general.”  

Nicholas Strausfeld

New Clues From Brain Structures of Mantis Shrimp

Wednesday, October 4, 2017

Taking a close look at the neural systems of mantis shrimp, top arthropod predators of the coral reef, researchers led by Nick Strausfeld at the University of Arizona and Gabriella Wolff, now at the University of Washington, discovered brain structures that — according to textbook wisdom — shouldn't be there.

Leslie Tolbert Elected to Harvard University's Board of Overseers

Friday, May 19, 2017

Harvard University today announced the results of the annual election of new members to the Board of Overseers. The new Overseers were elected for six-year terms. They were chosen from a slate of eight candidates, who were nominated by a Harvard Alumni Association committee as prescribed by the election rules. Degree holders cast 27,725 ballots in the election.

The primary function of the Board of Overseers is to encourage the University to maintain the highest attainable standards as a place of learning.

Drawing on the diverse experience and expertise of its members, the board exerts broad influence over the University’s strategic direction, provides essential counsel to its leadership on priorities and plans, has the power of consent to certain actions, such as the election of members of the Harvard Corporation, and directs the visitation process by which a broad array of Harvard Schools and departments are periodically reviewed.

Graduate Student Awards - honoring top graduate students

Wednesday, May 10, 2017

Congratulations to Rebekah Keating, Lilian Patron, and Meaghan Torvund for receiving top graduate student awards. Rebekah received the Service Award, Lilian received the Scholarship Award, and Meaghan received the Teaching Award. A description of each award is as follows:

Serviceattention to broader impacts and involvement in activities outside of academic responsibilities that benefit the department, university and the larger community. For example, this student may represent graduate student interests on councils or committees, organize graduate student events, assist departmental recruitment, participate in K-12 outreach, etc.

Scholarshipoutstanding research publications, presentations at meetings, and scholarships awarded.

Teachingteaching or mentoring that goes above and beyond what is required; positive evaluations or other feedback from students, willingness to help junior graduate students, etc.

Galileo Circle Scholars

Wednesday, May 10, 2017

Congratulations to Areen Badwal, Briggs Carhart, Rebekah Keating, and Colin Lynch for being named Galileo Circle Scholars.

Galileo Circle Scholars, the University of Arizona's finest undergraduate and graduate science students, represent the tremendous breadth of research interests in the College of Science. These scholars are our future and will be in the forefront of changing and bettering our world.

Stephanie Munger receives a College of Science Excellence Award

Wednesday, April 26, 2017

Congratulations to Stephanie Munger for receiving a College of Science Excellence Award. The Excellence Award is given to employees that perform job duties above and beyond what is normally expected, improve efficiency in the workplace and demonstrate, through attitude and actions, a willingness to help others and work as a team.

Cesar Medina receives the 2017 Excellence in STEM Diversity Award. Cesar also received an NSF Graduate Research Fellowship

Friday, April 14, 2017

Congratulations to Cesar Medina for receiving the 2017 Excellence in STEM Diversity Award and for also receiving an NSF Graduate Research Fellowship.

Cesar was chosen from a large pool of incredibly qualified applicants for the STEM Diversity Award. This award reflects Cesar's dedication to fostering diversity in STEM fields through the outreach he does with local schools, as well as his dedication as a scientist and researcher. Cesar will be presented with the award at the 2017 Science and Engineering Excellence Banquet on April 13, 2017. 

Cesar also received a National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship. The NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students in NSF-supported science, technology, engineering, and mathematics disciplines who are pursuing research-based Master's and doctoral degrees at accredited United States institutions.

Leslie Tolbert named an AAAS Fellow

Monday, November 21, 2016

Election as a Fellow of AAAS is an honor bestowed upon members by their peers. Fellows are recognized for meritorious efforts to advance science or its applications.

Becca Van Sickler

Becca Van Sickler receives the Galileo Circle Copernicus Award

Tuesday, November 1, 2016

Congratulations to Becca Van Sickler for receiving the Copernicus award. The Copernicus Award is one of the highest honors the College of Science can bestow on its non-tenure eligible faculty, appointed personnel or classified staff. Becca is the acknowledged heart of the undergraduate program in Neuroscience and Cognitive Science (NSCS). Becca became part of the NSCS program at its inception and has been a constant and powerful guide and advocate for students and faculty as the program has grown from the first class of 29 students to the current enrollment of more than 500 students.

Hildebrand receives the Wigglesworth Medal

Monday, October 3, 2016

Dr. John G. Hildebrand receives the Wigglesworth Medal of the Royal Entomological Society from the past President, Dr. John A. Pickett.