Department of Neuroscience

Neuroscience is the scientific study of nervous systems. The field encompasses the anatomy, behavioral functions, biochemistry, development, evolution, genetics, pharmacology, and physiology of nervous systems as well as biologically inspired robotics and prosthetics, computational modeling, and mechanisms of neurological and psychiatric diseases. The Department of Neuroscience is devoted to education and research in this remarkably interdisciplinary and dynamic field of modern science. Research in the Department of Neuroscience emphasizes analysis of neural circuits as it pertains to cellular, developmental, molecular and systems neurobiology, neuroethology, and neurogenetics.

Neuroscience Events

Neuroscience Colloquiums are jointly supported by the Neuroscience Department and the Graduate Interdisciplinary Program in Neuroscience.

Many colloquiums are live streamed. Join from PC, Mac, Linux, iOS or Android using Zoom. A link to the specific seminar will be posted here 30 minutes prior to each streamed event.

Live streaming link:

Neuroscience Data Blitz
Tuesday, November 20, 2018 - 5:30pm
Speaker: To Be Determined , Location: Museum Of Contemporary Art (MOCA)
Neuroscience Colloquium
Tuesday, November 27, 2018 - 4:00pm
Speaker: Oscar Mendez, Graduate Student , Location: Gould-Simpson, 601
Neuroscience Colloquium
Tuesday, December 4, 2018 - 4:00pm
Speaker: Sliman Bensmaia, Ph.D. , Location: MRB, 102
Neuroscience Colloquium
Thursday, December 13, 2018 - 4:00pm
Speaker: David Redish, Ph.D. , Location: MRB, 102

Neuroscience News

Jennifer Lawrence

Jennifer Lawrence Elected Chair of APAC

Congratulations to Jennifer Lawrence on being elected Chair of the Appointed Professionals Advisory Council (APAC).
Areen Badwal

Areen Badwal Receives Microscopy Society for America Grant

Congratulations to Areen Badwal for receiving the Microscopy Society for America Grant.

Stefano Dicenso Admitted to Prestigious Summer Program

Congratulations to Stefano Dicenso for being admitted to Border Latino and American Indian Summer Exposure to Research.